A day on the gsport

I am sure that all sports fanatics are familiar with the quote: “I’ve missed over 9,000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times I’ve been trusted to take the game-winning shot…and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed” (Michael Jordan circa 2008 if I have lost you on the reference)! Indeed, we are always told to be willing to impart ourselves 120%, that games are ≥ 50% mental and ≤ 40% physical, to give 100% dedication and – on Any Given Sunday – crawl, bleed and ‘die’ to cover even the smallest of inches. Jim Wohford’s conundrum even theorized that 90% of the game is half mental.

 
On top of my list of sport functions to watch out for this year was the 2012 SPAR gsport Awards, so to attend and give a hand was a privilege and pleasure. With the company being a force at the fore of raising the all-round profile of South African women’s sport, it made for an opportune time to reflect on one’s own ambitions, strengths, and potential, whilst – again – soaking up the spectacular of sporting achievement. One particular element that stood out for me throughout the day, however, was the femininity and 100% humility of the nominees, winners and programme coordinators alike. In tying this to my point, sport is renowned for its formulas, statistics, numbers and equations of big little figures that we cannot seem to do without. I was reminded (and humbled) of the fixed underscore to the formula of going for gold, if not for it’s immeasurable value then, at least, for the intrinsic prowess that it commands.
 

From left: Nyiko Minyuku, Maaladiatla Machaba, Kass Naidoo, Sonia Hendricks, Mmane Boikanyo

And so, a big thumbs up and thanks to Kass Naidoo and Ryk Meiring for their unwavering work on developing female sport in South Africa, and to Dale Herbst on his professional suave and campaign management. It is from opportunities like these that you give from which we learn. “Onward and upward!”

2 thoughts on “A day on the gsport

  1. I would swear that you are a Journalist. Good Piece of writing. A wonderful article to read: informative and uplifting. Tnx Dear!

Leave a Reply

